Friday, May 24, 2019

Peter Secchia, Mike Jandernoa receiving Economic Club of Grand Rapids top awards

“We are pleased to recognize and honor two extraordinary individuals at our annual dinner event this year,’’ said Lorna Schultz, executive director of the Economic Club of Grand Rapids.

Secchia, who served as U.S. Ambassador to Italy from 1989 to 1993, is the former CEO and Chairman of the Board at Universal Forest Products, Inc. He will receive the Slykhouse Community Leadership Award at the 32nd annual dinner at DeVos Place.

Jandernoa, former CEO and Chairman of the Board of the Perrigo Company, is the founder of Jandernoa Entrepreneurial Mentoring and co-founder of Bridge Street Capital Partner. He will receive the Business Person of the Year Award.

Haley, who resigned as ambassador at the end of 2018, is the keynote speaker for the event.

The former South Carolina governor will be presented the Col. Ralph W. Hauenstein Fellowship Award from Grand Valley State University, through its Hauenstein Center for Presidential Studies.

Honorees Secchia and Jandernoa are known for their business savvy and philanthropy.

“Michael Jandernoa, Business Person of the Year, is an excellent example of business acumen with his multiple professional endeavors and mentoring,’’ Schultz said.

“Peter Secchia, Slykhouse Community Leadership Award, personifies the meaning of community leadership through his long litany of projects, input and support. Both also well represent the success of business and community working together.’’

The Slykhouse Community Leadership Award, instituted in 2000, recognizes an individual for their talent and leadership ability, who has made significant community contributions in terms of personnel, economic value creation, support of the West Michigan community, and is individually recognized as a business and community leader.

Past recipients have included former U.S. President Gerald R. Ford, Arend D. (Don) Lubbers, Peter Wege, Ralph Hauenstein, and Kate Pew Wolters.

Jandernoa is lead investor and a board member for Hopen Life Science Fund, and co-founder and board member of Grand Angels. He is the founder and chairman of 42 North Partners, a family office focusing on investments, entrepreneurship, and community.

Business Person of the Year Award is individually recognized as a business and community leader.

The award was instituted in 1988 and past recipients include, Secchia, Amway co-founders Richard DeVos and Jay Van Andel, L.V. Eberhard, Peter Cook, Fred Meijer, Peter Secchia and Jim Hackett.


The members-only dinner begins at 6 p.m. with a reception. Tickets for the event are $200. Contact the Econ Club regarding availability at 616-454-1883. For additional information, visit the website.